top of page

My Trip to Boston and Training on the Road


What’s up guys? I hope everyone had a kick ass weekend and is dominating their week!

This past weekend my girlfriend Stephani and I took a trip up to Boston. We went to Fenway Park for the first time and saw a Foo Fighter’s concert. They are awesome live and I highly recommend seeing them. Visiting Fenway Park was an even cooler experience.

We both drank a bit more alcohol than we normally do and stuffed our faces with bar food after the concert, so the next morning was a bit tougher to get up and get a training session in. Although tough, I managed to get my drunk ass downstairs to the “fitness center” as Stephani continued snoring like a homeless person as I left the room.

We all know how much hotel gyms can suck. No squat rack, no plates and dumbbells that only go up to 50’s. So I was limited to say the least.

So I put together a quick upper body circuit for high reps since there weren’t any heavy weights.

That was probably a good thing considering my hungover state.

After some static stretching and mobility work, I did 3 rounds of the following with minimal rest:

Flat DB presses x 20

1 arm rows x 20 each

Standing hammer curls x 20

Ab planks x 90 seconds

All in all this took me about 35 minutes. Broke a sweat, got a decent pump and felt much better about drinking and eating like shit.

My point is you don’t have to have a ton of equipment to get some decent work in. If you’re on the road sometimes you have to make do with what you have. Even if it’s a light circuit like this one, it is much better than doing nothing.

Don’t overanalyze and just do. I didn’t feel like getting out of bed early to train, but I did anyway and felt much better for a day of touring the city.

If you are traveling and you don’t have access to any equipment at all, do a bodyweight circuit for high reps or time. Or go outside and hit some sprints. Just make sure you do SOMETHING. Keep it short, sweet and make it fun.

Bring a few shakes with you and grab some fruit so you can always get a decent breakfast and/or post workout meal in. If you don’t want to gain a ton of fat on vacation, try to keep most of your meals clean and eat what you want when you really want to cheat.

You’ll enjoy yourself much more if you get some light work done and keep more meals clean than not.

I hope this helps the next time you’re on the road!

Feel free to shoot me an email at Chris@tutelatraining.com if you have any questions.

Catch you guys next time!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
.
bottom of page